Olympic Soccer (Women) - How to watch the Quarter-finals on July 30, 2021

We are down to the last eight teams in the Women's Olympic football tournament, where all teams will have everything to play for in their Quarter final matches.

After winning their three games in the first round, Sweden have to be considered the team to beat. Following them closely are Netherlands, Brazil, and Great Britain, three teams that also made the KO stage without any losses, and should also be considered among the top contenders to win the gold.

One of the most surprising performances in the competition has been that of the USWNT, who have failed to live up to the expectations and were only able to win one of their group stage games. Now, the team led by Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe will have to work harder to reach the semis for the first time since 2012.

Here is how the bracket looks like ahead of the Quarter-final matchups.

 

Let's have a look at the fixtures in detail.

Canada vs Brazil

Canada came second in Group E behind Great Britain despite only being able to win one game. Now, the North American side will face Brazil for the chance to enter the semis. Brazil enter the second round after finishing second in Group F due to The Netherlands' massive goalscoring display. The Canarinha will now try to see their legendary footballers such as Marta and Formiga reach the semis for a second edition of the Olympic Games in a row.  The team that wins this match will face the winner of the Netherlands vs USWNT tie.

Canada vs Brazil Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 30 July 4:00am ET / 9:00am BST / 10:00am CET
Stadium: Miyagi Stadium (Rifu)
Australia: 7plus
Canada: cbcsports.ca, Amazon Prime Canada, CBC Sports App, CBC
France: Eurosport Player France
Germany: DAZN, Eurosport Player
India: JioTV, Sony LIV
Indonesia: Vidio
Netherlands: Eurosport Player Netherlands
Nigeria: Showmax
Portugal: Eurosport Player Portugal
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain
Turkey: Eurosport Player Turkey
United Kingdom: discovery+, EuroSport Player UK
United States: NBCSN, NBC Sports App, NBCOlympics.com, fuboTV

Great Britain vs Australia

The British side won their group and increased their chances of success by being paired up against one of the third-place finishers. The team will now try to gain access to their first semi-final ever, but to do that they will have to beat Australia, a team that have earned their first KO stage spot in an Olympic football tournament and will be eager to make it count. Whoever wins this game will go on to face the winners in the Sweden vs Japan clash.

Great Britain vs Australia Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 30 July 5:00am ET / 10:00am BST / 11:00am CET
Stadium: Kashima Soccer Stadium (Kashima)
Australia: 7plus, Seven
Canada: cbcsports.ca, Amazon Prime Canada, CBC Sports App
France: Eurosport Player France
Germany: DAZN, Eurosport Player
India: Sony LIV, JioTV
Indonesia: Vidio
Netherlands: Eurosport Player Netherlands
Nigeria: Showmax
Portugal: Eurosport Player Portugal
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain
Turkey: Eurosport Player Turkey
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK, discovery+
United States: NBC Sports App, NBCOlympics.com

Sweden vs Japan

The hosts will face the team with the best performance in the group stage, and that alone should give us an idea on how this game might pan out. The Blagult have based their success on their defense, conceding just twice in three games. With only two goals to their name in the competition, can Japan put up a fight against one of the best teams in the tournament?

Sweden vs Japan Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 30 July 6:00am ET / 11:00am BST / 12:00pm CET
Stadium: Saitama Stadium 2002 (Saitama)
Australia: 7plus
Canada: cbcsports.ca, Amazon Prime Canada, CBC Sports App
France: Eurosport Player France
Germany: Eurosport Player, DAZN
India: Sony LIV, JioTV
Indonesia: Vidio
Netherlands: Eurosport Player Netherlands
Nigeria: Showmax
Portugal: Eurosport Player Portugal
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain
Turkey: Eurosport Player Turkey
United Kingdom: discovery+, EuroSport Player UK
United States: NBCSN, fuboTV, NBCOlympics.com, NBC Sports App

Netherlands vs USA

The most interesting game of the bunch will feature the two teams that played for the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2019. The Dutch side breezed past the group stage by scoring a whopping 21 goals. Meanwhile, the Stars and Stripes barely made it here by scoring six, all in the same game. Five years ago, the USWNT were eliminated by Sweden in this same stage of the competition. Will history repeat itself but with different opponents being their executioners?

Netherlands vs USA Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 30 July 7:00am ET / 12:00pm BST / 1:00pm CET
Stadium: Nissan Stadium (Yokohama)
Australia: 7plus
Canada: cbcsports.ca, Amazon Prime Canada, CBC Sports App
France: Eurosport Player France
Germany: DAZN, Eurosport Player
India: Sony LIV, JioTV
Indonesia: Vidio
Netherlands: Eurosport Player Netherlands, NPO 1
Nigeria: Showmax
Portugal: Eurosport Player Portugal
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain
Turkey: Eurosport Player Turkey
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK, discovery+
United States: NBC Sports App, NBCOlympics.com

Outras notícias