Bayern Munich secures seventh consecutive Bundesliga title as Robben and Ribery bid farewell

Bayern Munich has made history by becoming the first club in German football to win the Bundesliga for the seventh time in succession. The Bavarians staged an incredible display to thrash Eintracht Frankfurt 5-1 in a match which saw Rafinha, Arjen Robben and Franck Ribery playing in their last official game in front of spectators at Allianz Arena.

Ahead of Saturday's encounter, the possibility of an upset existed for second-placed Borussia Dortmund who was just two points off Niko Kovac's side's overall tally in 33 games. However, Die BVB's 2-0 victory over rivals Borussia Monchengladbach proved to be inadequate with Bayern Munich maintaining the points gap by finishing with 78 points.

Meanwhile, the aftermath of the Bavarians feat in the afternoon was filled with mixed emotions as the conclusion of the proceeding marked the end of the 'Robbery' era. Both Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben were introduced into the fray in the 61st and 67th minutes respectively, and pair successfully landed itself on the scoresheet to put the game out of the reach of Frankfurt.

Ribery subsequently sealed a milestone of becoming the first player in the history of the Bundesliga to win nine titles. He also tied with legendary goalkeeper Oliver Kahn as the players with the most titles for the Munich outfit with his trophy counts now standing at 23.

In his 12-year stint, Franck Ribery made 424 appearances, scoring 124 goals and registering 182 assists. Relatively, Arjen Robben ended his 10-year spell with 307 appearances, 143 goals and 101 assists.

Bayern Munich's title win also meant that for the first time ever, 

Outras notícias