Chelsea vs Porto: Blues look to book spot in UCL semi-finals

Preview: Chelsea vs Porto

Having eased to a 2-0 road win thanks to goals from Mason Mount and Ben Chilwell, it's very much advantage Chelsea ahead of the home leg when the Blues take on Porto for part two of their quarter-finals clash. The build-up to the meeting between the two very familiar foes was certainly tense, especially after a former Porto player had slammed Thomas Tuchel's side for what he felt was a disrespectful response to receiving the Dragons as opponents, but now, it's the London giants who are 90 minutes away from securing a place in the final four.

Still, Porto can't - and shouldn't - be counted out just yet. While the visitors don't have the best track record against Chelsea, the Dragons did snap Chelsea's long-standing winning streak against Portuguese clubs back in September 2015. Prior to that meeting, the Blues were on an eight game winning run, only to lose 2-1 to Porto in a group stage encounter. 

That being said, Porto have won just one of their last 20 away UCL games. They come into this game having secured a fifth straight Primeira Liga game to keep up the chase for the league title. Although they're six points behind, their winning run has started to put some pressure on league leaders Sporting CP, and there's still time between now and the end of the season.

Given that Porto's UCL campaign will likely be coming to an end on Tuesday evening, they can certainly pivot back towards domestic affairs, meaning that the league title just may become a more realistic possibility with Sergio Conceição able to focus his efforts on one front as opposed to multiple campaigns. 

Team news: Chelsea vs Porto

Chelsea: The Blues have a fully fit squad ahead of this game, with N'Golo Kante expected to be involved after recovering from a hamstring problem. Tuchel may rotate his team with one eye on the FA Cup clash with Man City coming up later this week.

Porto: Both Sérgio Oliveira and Mehdi Taremi missed out due to a ban, but they'll be back, which will give the Dragons a much-needed boost.

Match facts: Chelsea vs Porto

  • This will be the 10th meeting between Chelsea and Porto
  • Edouard Mendy will hope to match fellow shot-stopper Fabien Barthez's record of winning eight consecutive UCL matches with a victory against Porto on Tuesday evening
  •  Porto have won just one of their last 20 away UCL games
  • Chelsea have now won six of their last nine meetings with Porto

Where to watch Chelsea vs Porto live on April 13, 2021

Chelsea vs Porto kick off at 12:00 PST/15:00 EST/20:00 GMT/21:00 CET

USA: FuboTV, Sling TV, Galavision, TUDN.com, Univision NOW, ZonaFutbol, Paramount+, TUDN App

UK: BT Sport Extra, BTSport.com, BBC Radio 5 Live, BT Sport App, BT Sport 2

Portugal: Eleven Sports 1 Portugal, TVI

Australia: Optus Sport

Canada: DAZN

Live elsewhere? Here's where to watch Chelsea vs Porto live from your current location:

Chelsea vs Porto Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Tuesday 13 April 3:00pm ET / 8:00pm BST / 9:00pm CET
Stadium: Estadio Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán (Sevilla)
Australia: Optus Sport
Canada: DAZN
France: RMC Sport 2, RMC Sport en direct
Germany: Blue Sport, Sky Go, Sky Sport 1/HD, DAZN, Sky Ticket
India: SONY TEN 1, Sony LIV, SONY TEN 1 HD
Indonesia: Vidio
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport Select, Ziggo Sport 14
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport 4 Afrique, DStv Now, SuperSport Football Plus Nigeria, SuperSport MaXimo 1
Portugal: TVI, Eleven Sports 1 Portugal
Spain: Movistar Liga de Campeones 1, Movistar+, Mitele Plus
Turkey: Digiturk Play, beIN CONNECT Turkey
United Kingdom: BT Sport 2, BT Sport App, BBC Radio 5 Live, BT Sport Extra, BTSport.com
United States: ZonaFutbol, TUDN App, Galavision, Univision NOW, fuboTV, TUDN.com, Paramount+

Outras notícias