Premier League planning to air five back-to-back games on Saturdays and Sundays upon its return

Fans hungry for the return of the Premier League could be in for a treat once Project Restart comes to fruition. According to the Mirror, the English top-flight is planning to stage back-to-back games during the weekends in their attempt to wrap up the 2019/20 season.

The plan is to get things back underway in mid to late June, with the aim being to air all 10 games on TV. Not only that, but five games will be held back-to-back on Saturdays followed by another five wall-to-wall coverage on Sundays, which will be exciting news for fans of this championship.

According to the report, games would kick off every two hours starting from 12 PM BST, which translates into 7 AM ET. The subsequent matches would then begin at 2 PM BST (9 AM ET), 4 PM BST (11 AM ET), 6 PM BST (1 PM ET), and 8 PM BST (3 PM ET).

A total of 92 games remain, with the last Premier League game taking place on March 9. The majority of those matches will take place over the weekends and will thus follow the aforementioned format; however, broadcasters are said to be pushing for midweek games. If this goes ahead, the Premier League could emulate the Champions League and stage matches at 6 PM and 8 PM BST time, which translates into 1 PM and 3 PM ET time.

All of this, however, hinges on whether Project Restart proves successful. All fingers points to the Premier League returning but the English top-flight has faced several setbacks in their plan to get the season back underway. June 12 is the proposed date but clubs are pushing to get that delayed until June 26 at the earliest as they fear for the fitness of their players who would not have ample time to train. 

Şunu da beğenebilirsiniz: