South Africa's full squad, coach, fixtures, title winning odds for the 2019 AFCON

What is South Africa's history in the AFCON?

Banned from entering the earlier competitions due to their racist apartheid policy, South Africa did not get to participate until 1996, when they served as hosts and won the competition. To date, that is the only AFCON title that South Africa have earned, and the end of last century was arguably their zenith as in 1998 they finished as runners-up before picking up a third-place medal in 2000.

Since then, however, they have struggled to reach the same heights. After finishing in fourth in 2002, they crashed out at the group stages in their next three successive tournaments (2004, 2006, and 2008). Bafana Bafana failed to qualify for both the 2010 and 2012 editions, but secured a spot in 2013 thanks to being granted the chance to host the competition again, where they made a run to the quarter-finals.

Having missed out on the 2017 installment of the bi-annual competition, this summer will be South Africa's first appearance since 2015 and their tenth overall after finishing behind Nigeria in Group E during qualifying.

What is South Africa's full squad list for the 2019 AFCON?

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams, Bruce Bvuma

Defenders: Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Sifiso Hlanti, Thamsanqa Mkhize, Innocent Maela, Daniel Cardoso

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Thulani Serero, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Hlompho Kekana, Bongani Zungu, Samuel Mabunda, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Themba Zwane

Forwards: Lars Veldwijk, Thembinkosi Lorch, Lebo Mothiba, Lebohang Maboe, Percy Tau

Who are the key players to watch for South Africa at the 2019 AFCON?

If South Africa want to go deep in this competition, they will naturally need all hands on deck, but one key player that will have to bring his A-game is none other than Lars Veldwijk. His inclusion in the squad wasn't without some controversy, as some wondered why Kermit Erasmus was not included, but Baxter clearly believes that the Dutch-born striker offers a new look to their attack.

In addition, Percy Tau, a 2016 CAF Champions League winner and recent recipient of the Proximus League (Belgian second division) Player of the Season prize will be hoping to have a strong performance this summer so as to possibly pique the interest of other clubs in Europe. Since making his senior debut in 2015, Tau has netted nine times in 18 appearances for Bafana Bafana, and having helped his team secure qualification with four goals, he will be quite eager to add more to his tally at his first ever AFCON tournament.

Who is South Africa's coach?

Former midfielder Stuart Baxter has been in charge of South Africa since 2017. This will be the Englishman's second spell with the Bafana Bafana, having managed them previously between 2004 and 2005. A highly experienced coach, the 65-year-old has also been at the helm of a couple of other national sides, including Finland and England's under-19 squad. In addition, he has also managed clubs in Scandinavia, Japan, and Portugal, as well as in South Africa.

What are the odds of South Africa winning the 2019 AFCON?

To be honest, slim to none. Although we all saw Croatia shock the world by making it all the way to the World Cup finals last summer, and in 2004, Greece managed to win the EURO title, South Africa are rank outsiders in a highly competitive field that includes the likes of hosts Egypt, Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Senegal, and others.

How can I watch South Africa's 2019 AFCON matches?

South Africa will face the Ivory Coast, Namibia, and Morocco in their group stage matches, and here's how you can see them in action from wherever you are based:

Côte d'Ivoire vs South Africa Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Monday 24 June 10:30am ET / 3:30pm BST / 4:30pm CET
Stadium: Al Salam Stadium (Cairo Military Production Stadium) (Cairo)
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, fuboTV Canada, beIN Sports Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Nigeria: SuperSport 7 Nigeria, SuperSport 7 Africa, SL2G, SuperSport 4
South Africa: SL2G, SuperSport 4, SABC 3, SuperSport Maximo 2, SuperSport 7 Africa
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV, Fanatiz USA, beIN SPORTS

South Africa vs Namibia Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 28 June 4:00pm ET / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CET
Stadium: Al Salam Stadium (Cairo Military Production Stadium) (Cairo)
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: fuboTV Canada, DAZN, beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, beIN Sports Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
South Africa: SABC 3
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK, EuroSport 2 UK
United States: fuboTV, beIN SPORTS, beIN SPORTS CONNECT, Fanatiz USA

South Africa vs Morocco Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Monday 1 July 12:00pm ET / 5:00pm BST / 6:00pm CET
Stadium: Al Salam Stadium (Cairo Military Production Stadium) (Cairo)
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Morocco: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
South Africa: SABC 3
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV, Fanatiz USA

Andere Neuigkeiten