Portuguese Primeira Liga's June 3 return date: fixtures, live TV and streaming schedule for Matchday 25 worldwide

2020 could be basically described as an awful roller-coaster ride for people worldwide, with lives destroyed and turned upside down due to the contagion that has wreaked havoc globally since breaking out in Wuhan, China sometime in 2019. Football has not escaped this, with many leagues in Europe having to abruptly go on pause to avoid COVID-19 from rampaging through their teams and causing harm to players, staff, and fans.

In Portugal, the Primeira Liga was officially put on pause on March 12th as the country's government, like many in Europe and in other parts of the world, decided to suspend sporting activities as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic outbreak. However, despite numerous people being sickened and many losing their lives, lockdown restrictions across Europe are slowly being lifted as many governments are hopeful that their countries have finally turned a corner.

In Germany, the Bundesliga became the first major European league to resume action as things got back up and running on May 16th. All eyes, of course, were on how things panned out, and so far, there does not appear to be any major issues. As such, other leagues, including the Primeira Liga have decided to take a gamble and also re-start play, with teams set to return to live action on June 3rd with a couple of games, including current league leaders Porto on the road against Famalicão, while last season's Primeira Liga winners Benfica are in action at home against Tondela on June 4th.

How has the Primeira Liga changed since the COVID-19 outbreak?

Just like in the Bundesliga, there will be some changes once the Primeira Liga resumes action on June 3rd, with the most notable being the lack of fans in the stadiums. Initially, there were plans to have teams play in as locations as possible, but that didn't go over well with most, so 16 out of the 18 teams will still get to play in their own stadia. The only exceptions are Santa Clara and Belenenses. Players, naturally, will also be tested frequently, and social distancing whenever possible (i.e. while sitting on the bench) will be practicesd as well.

However, unlike the Bundesliga, which has five subs per team for matches, the Primeira Liga has not yet fully agreed on this new modification (not all teams are on board) so matchday 25 will begin with the normal three subs per match.

Broadcast listings as the Primeira Liga returns with matchday 25

Here are the specific broadcasters for the following countries:

USA: GOLTV USA, RTP International, Benfica TV, FuboTV, Fanatiz

Australia: RTP International

Canada: GOLTV Play, RTP International, Benfica TV

France: RTP International, RMC Sport

Portugal: SporTV Portugal, Benfica TV

UK: Premier Media, FreeSports TV UK, Benfica TV

Below are the nine fixtures set to take place on matchday 25:

Wednesday, June 3rd:

11:00 PST/14:00 EST/18:00 GMT/20:00 CET - Portimonense vs Gil Vicente

USA: No channel available for this match

Australia: No channel available for this match

Canada: No channel available for this match

France: No channel available for this match

Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

UK: No channel available for this match


13:15 PST/16:15 EST/20:15 GMT/22:15 CET - Famalicão vs Porto

USA: GolTV Espanol, GOLTV, Fanatiz USA

Australia: No channel available for this match

Canada: No channel available for this match

France: RMC Sport 1, RMC Sport en direct

Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV1, Sport TV+, Sport TV3

UK: Premier Player HD, FreeSports TV UK, Premier Sports 1


Thursday, June 4th:

11:00 PST/14:00 EST/18:00 GMT/20:00 CET - Marítimo vs Vitória Setúbal

USA: No channel available for this match

Australia: No channel available for this match

Canada: No channel available for this match

France: No channel available for this match

Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

UK: No channel available for this match


11:15 PST/14:15 EST/18:15 GMT/20:15 CET - Benfica vs Tondela

USA: GolTV Espanol, Benfica TV INT., GOLTV, Fanatiz USA

Australia: No channel available for this match

Canada: Benfica TV INT.

France: Benfica TV INT., RMC Sport 1, RMC Sport en direct

Portugal: Sport TV+, Sport TV LIVE, Benfica TV

UK: Premier Player HD, Benfica TV INT., Premier Sports 1, FreeSports TV UK


13:15 PST/16:15 EST/20:15 GMT/22:15 CET - Vitória Guimarães vs Sporting CP

USA: GolTV Espanol, Fanatiz USA, GOLTV, RTPi

Australia: RTPi

Canada: RTPi

France: RMC Sport en direct, RTPi, RMC Sport 1

Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, RTP África, Sport TV3, Sport TV+, Sport TV1

UK: FreeSports TV UK, RTPi


Friday, June 5th:

11:00 PST/14:00 EST/18:00 GMT/20:00 CET - Santa Clara vs Sporting Braga

USA: No channel available for this match

Australia: No channel available for this match

Canada: No channel available for this match

France: No channel available for this match

Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

UK: No channel available for this match


13:15 PST/16:15 EST/20:15 GMT/22:15 CET - Desportivo Aves vs Belenenses

USA: No channel available for this match

Australia: No channel available for this match

Canada: No channel available for this match

France: No channel available for this match

Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

UK: No channel available for this match


Saturday, June 6th:

13:15 PST/16:15 EST/20:15 GMT/22:15 CET - Boavista vs Moreirense

USA: GOLTV Play

Australia: No channel available for this match

Canada: GOLTV Play

France: No channel available for this match

Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

UK: No channel available for this match


Sunday, June 7th:

13:00 PST/16:00 EST/20:00 GMT/22:00 CET - Rio Ave vs Paços de Ferreira

USA: GOLTV Play

Australia: No channel available for this match

Canada: GOLTV Play

France: No channel available for this match

Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

UK: No channel available for this match


If you do not live in the US, Australia, Canada, Portugal or the UK, or live in a CET/GMT/EST/PST timezone, please check the schedule below for geo-targeted kick-off times and live broadcast listings for each of the nine Primeira Liga matchday 25 fixtures:

Portimonense vs Gil Vicente Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Wednesday 3 June 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Estádio Municipal de Portimão (Portimão)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

Famalicão vs Porto Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Wednesday 3 June 4:15pm ET / 9:15pm BST / 10:15pm CET
Stadium: Estádio Cidade de Barcelos (Barcelos)
France: RMC Sport en direct, RMC Sport 1
Germany: sportdigital
Portugal: Sport TV1, Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV+
United Kingdom: FreeSports TV UK, Premier Player HD, Premier Sports 1
United States: GOLTV, GolTV Espanol, Fanatiz USA, fuboTV

Marítimo vs Vitória Setúbal Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Thursday 4 June 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Estádio dos Barreiros (Funchal (Ilha da Madeira))
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

Benfica vs Tondela Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Thursday 4 June 2:15pm ET / 7:15pm BST / 8:15pm CET
Stadium: Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica (da Luz) (Lisboa)
Canada: Benfica TV INT.
France: Benfica TV INT., RMC Sport en direct, RMC Sport 1
Germany: DAZN, sportdigital
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV+, Benfica TV
United Kingdom: Premier Sports 1, Premier Player HD, FreeSports TV UK, Benfica TV INT.
United States: Fanatiz USA, Benfica TV INT., GOLTV, fuboTV, GolTV Espanol

Vitória Guimarães vs Sporting CP Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Thursday 4 June 4:15pm ET / 9:15pm BST / 10:15pm CET
Stadium: Estádio Dom Afonso Henriques (Guimarães)
Australia: RTPi
Canada: RTPi
France: RMC Sport en direct, RMC Sport 1, RTPi
Germany: RTPi, DAZN, sportdigital
Portugal: Sport TV3, RTP África, Sport TV+, Sport TV1, Sport TV LIVE
Spain: RTPi
United Kingdom: FreeSports TV UK, RTPi
United States: Fanatiz USA, RTPi, GOLTV, GolTV Espanol, fuboTV

Santa Clara vs Sporting Braga Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 5 June 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Cidade do Futebol (Oeiras)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

Desportivo Aves vs Belenenses Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 5 June 4:15pm ET / 9:15pm BST / 10:15pm CET
Stadium: Estádio Clube Desportivo das Aves (Vila das Aves)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

Boavista vs Moreirense Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 6 June 4:15pm ET / 9:15pm BST / 10:15pm CET
Stadium: Estádio do Bessa Século XXI (Porto)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1

Rio Ave vs Paços de Ferreira Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 7 June 4:00pm ET / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CET
Stadium: Estádio do Rio Ave Futebol Clube (Vila do Conde)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV3, Sport TV1
 

Otras noticias