Group E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola - AFCON 2019 teams

Group E at this summer's AFCON tournament contains Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, and Angola. On paper at least, it looks like it will be likely Mali and Tunisia battling it out for top spot, with Angola looking to have a say while Mauritania will be at least hoping to get off the mark in their first ever tournament.

Here's what you need to know about the four teams in Group E.

Tunisia

How they got to the 2019 AFCON: Tunisia booked their ticket to this summer's event by finishing top of Group J. Interestingly, hosts Egypt were also in the same quartet. Why? Well, because initially, Cameroon were supposed to host it, meaning that the Pharaohs had to go through qualifying like anyone else. However, on January 8th of this year, Egypt were announced as the new hosts, which meant that no matter where they finished in their group, they would obviously take part in the tournament.

In any case, Tunisia beat Egypt 1-0 in the first leg, but lost the second leg 3-2 after Mohamed Salah netted a last-gasp goal to give his team all three points. It will be very interesting to see if the two sides meet once again this summer, as the Eagles of Carthage will have a score to settle.   

Tunisia's record at the AFCON: Tunisia's best result was winning their first - and only to date - AFCON title in 2004. They also earned a runners-up spot in 1965 and 1996. Arguably, Tunisia are among the most experienced sides in the competition this summer as they will be making their 19th appearance in Egypt and the Eagles of Carthage will be hoping to improve on their performances from 2015 and 2017, during which they exited at the quarter-finals stage.

Mali

How they got to the 2019 AFCON: Mali secured their spot at the upcoming AFCON by finishing first in Group C in qualifiers. Les Aigles finished their group stage campaign sans defeat, with four wins and two draws to top their quartet by four points ahead of runners-up Burundi and six points ahead of Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang's Gabon.

Mali's record at the AFCON: To date, Mali's best ever finish at an AFCON tournament was securing a runners-up berth at the 1972 edition, which was their debut. They also earned consecutive third-place finishes in 2012 and 2013, but failed to clear the group stage in their last two participations in 2015 and 2017. This summer will be their 11th time featuring at the AFCON, and it will be very interesting to see if they can take advantage of a relatively straightforward group and avoid an early exit for the third straight time.

Mauritania

How they got to the 2019 AFCON: Thanks to a runners-up spot in Group I, Mauritania will be featuring at their first ever AFCON competition this summer. A 2-1 win over Botswana was enough to help them to book their ticket to Egypt, and they will again face familiar foes Angola, who bested them to top spot in their quartet.

Mauritania's record at the AFCON: The small nation will have high hopes in their debut AFCON tournament, but arguably, with Tunisia and Mali in the same quartet the odds will be heavily stacked against them. That being said, debutants have made a splash at major tournaments in the past - just look at how Iceland fared at the 2016 EURO competition.

Angola

How they got to the 2019 AFCON: Angola were tied on points with upcoming debutants Mauritania after four wins and two draws in qualifying. However, their superior head-to-head record, namely thanks to a 4-1 win over the minnows, meant that Mauritania's 1-0 victory in the reverse leg wasn't enough to help the Northern African nation to seal top spot. As a result, Angola come into this competition as winners of Group I.

Angola's record at the AFCON: The Palancas Negras' best result to date was two quarter-finals finishes in 2008 and 2010. Having failed to qualify for the last two editions of this bi-annual tournament, Angola will be featuring for the eighth time after making their debut in 1996.

How to watch all of Group E's matches

Here's how you can watch all six of Group B's matches, featuring Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, and Angola:

Tunisia vs Angola Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Monday 24 June 1:00pm ET / 6:00pm BST / 7:00pm CET
Stadium: New Suez Stadium (as-Suways (Suez))
Angola: SL2G, SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 4, SL2G
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, beIN Sports Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Netherlands: Fox Sports Go, Fox Sports 4
Nigeria: SuperSport 7 Africa, SL2G, SuperSport 4, SL2G, SuperSport 7 Nigeria
Portugal: Eurosport 2 Portugal
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain, Eurosport 2 Spain
Tunisia: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Turkey: Spor Smart HD, Dsmart Isteizle Live
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: Fanatiz USA, fuboTV, beIN SPORTS CONNECT, beIN SPORTS

Mali vs Mauritania Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Monday 24 June 4:00pm ET / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CET
Stadium: New Suez Stadium (as-Suways (Suez))
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, beIN Sports Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Mali: SL2G, SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 4
Mauritania: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Netherlands: Fox Sports 4, Fox Sports Go
Nigeria: SuperSport 7 Nigeria, SuperSport 7 Africa, SL2G, SuperSport 4
Portugal: Eurosport 2 Portugal
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain, Eurosport 2 Spain
Turkey: Spor Smart HD, Dsmart Isteizle Live
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK, EuroSport 2 UK
United States: beIN SPORTS, Fanatiz USA, beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV

Tunisia vs Mali Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 28 June 10:30am ET / 3:30pm BST / 4:30pm CET
Stadium: New Suez Stadium (as-Suways (Suez))
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, beIN Sports Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Netherlands: Fox Sports 4, Fox Sports Go
Portugal: Eurosport 2 Portugal
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain
Tunisia: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK, EuroSport 2 UK
United States: fuboTV, beIN SPORTS, Fanatiz USA, beIN SPORTS CONNECT

Mauritania vs Angola Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 29 June 10:30am ET / 3:30pm BST / 4:30pm CET
Stadium: New Suez Stadium (as-Suways (Suez))
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, beIN Sports Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Mauritania: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Netherlands: Fox Sports 4, Fox Sports Go
Portugal: Eurosport 2 Portugal
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK, EuroSport 2 UK
United States: fuboTV, beIN SPORTS, Fanatiz USA, beIN SPORTS CONNECT

Angola vs Mali Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Tuesday 2 July 3:00pm ET / 8:00pm BST / 9:00pm CET
Stadium: Ismaïlia Stadium (Ismailia)
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, Fanatiz USA, fuboTV

Mauritania vs Tunisia Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Tuesday 2 July 3:00pm ET / 8:00pm BST / 9:00pm CET
Stadium: New Suez Stadium (as-Suways (Suez))
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Mauritania: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Spain: Eurosport Player Spain
Tunisia: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, Fanatiz USA, fuboTV

Şunu da beğenebilirsiniz: