Group C analysis: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania- AFCON 2019

What is the record of the teams at the AFCON?

Senegal

Senegal does not boast the best of records at the AFCON. While the Lions of Teranga have long been a formidable side in Africa, they are yet to win their continental cup. They came close in 2002, losing 3-2 on penalties to Cameroon in the final. Besides that, three fourth-placed finishes were all they could muster. Regardless, they topped their group in the qualifiers and are one of the favorites. Mane and Co. are not ranked 23 in the world and number one in Africa for no reason.

Algeria

A one-time Africa Cup of Nations champion, Algeria goes in search of crown number two at Egypt 2019. After a disastrous spell from 2014 to 2018 in which the national team hired and sacked five different coaches, things have settled down for the Fennecs and hope has sprung. The north African nation will be making their 18th appearance in this tournament. Since lifting the title in 1990, Algeria has crashed out in the group stage on five separate occasions but will be avoiding a sixth embarrassment once the competition kicks off.

Kenya 

This will be Kenya's sixth appearance. All five of their previous attempts to make the knockout stage ended in failure. The Harambee Stars have won only one of the 14 AFCON games they have played, losing nine and drawing once. In the qualifiers, they finished only two points behind Ghana and will thus be hopeful of upsetting their Group C rivals.

Tanzania

This will be Tanzania's first Africa Cup of Nations appearance since their debut campaign back in 1980. As a result, the Taifa Stars are the worst bet to progress. They did not make it out of the group stage in their only previous appearance, losing two of the three games they played.

Who are the favorites to progress out of Group C?

Senegal is a no brainer. They are the highest-ranked African nation and boast a star-studded squad. As for who will join them in the next round, Algeria is the safest bet. Tanzania will likely bow out early but whether Kenya will join them or upset the Fennecs remains unclear.

Who are the key players to watch in Group C?

  • Sadio Mane

  • Kalidou Koulibaly

  • Riyad Mahrez

  • Victor Wanyama

What are the 2019 AFCON Group C fixtures?

Senegal vs Tanzania Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 23 June 1:00pm ET / 6:00pm BST / 7:00pm CET
Stadium: 30 June Air Defence Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: fuboTV Canada, beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Nigeria: SuperSport 7 Nigeria, SuperSport 4, SL2G, SuperSport 7 Africa, SL2G
Portugal: Eurosport 2 Portugal
Senegal: SL2G, SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 4, SL2G
Tanzania: SL2G, SL2G, SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 4
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: fuboTV, Fanatiz USA, beIN SPORTS CONNECT

Algeria vs Kenya Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 23 June 4:00pm ET / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CET
Stadium: 30 June Air Defence Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Algeria: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: fuboTV Canada, beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Kenya: SL2G, SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 4
Nigeria: SL2G, SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 4, SuperSport 7 Nigeria
Portugal: Eurosport 2 Portugal
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, Fanatiz USA, fuboTV

Senegal vs Algeria Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Thursday 27 June 1:00pm ET / 6:00pm BST / 7:00pm CET
Stadium: 30 June Air Defence Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Algeria: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: fuboTV Canada, beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV, Fanatiz USA

Kenya vs Tanzania Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Thursday 27 June 4:00pm ET / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CET
Stadium: 30 June Air Defence Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: Fanatiz USA, fuboTV, beIN SPORTS CONNECT

Kenya vs Senegal Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Monday 1 July 3:00pm ET / 8:00pm BST / 9:00pm CET
Stadium: 30 June Air Defence Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: fuboTV Canada, beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK
United States: Fanatiz USA, beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV

Tanzania vs Algeria Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Monday 1 July 3:00pm ET / 8:00pm BST / 9:00pm CET
Stadium: Al Salam Stadium (Cairo Military Production Stadium) (Cairo)
Algeria: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, Fanatiz USA, fuboTV

Şunu da beğenebilirsiniz: