Ligue 1: Stats, facts, and team news ahead of matchday six

Matchday five saw Neymar return to the fold, and despite receiving plenty of unwanted attention from irritated PSG fans, the Brazilian superstar earned his side all three points with a late goal against Strasbourg.  He'll likely feature here as PSG face Lyon - who may have tailed off lately, but still have a very solid home record.

Meanwhile, Monaco will need to sort their defense out - quickly. They've shipped 14 goals so far, and that's the most they have ever done at this stage in any campaign.

Here's what you need to know ahead of matchday six.

Team news: Who's missing out on matchday six?

  • PSG: Edinson Cavani (Hip Injury), Kylian Mbappé (Hamstring Injury), Colin Dagba (Muscle Injury), Thilo Kehrer
    (Foot Injury), Julian Draxler (Foot Injury)
  • Monaco: Stevan Jovetic (Cruciate Ligament Rupture), Danijel Subasic (Hamstring Injury), Willem Geubbels
    (Knee Surgery), Pietro Pellegri (Pulled hamstring), Benjamin Henrichs (Fitness issues)
  • Marseille: Isaac Lihadji (Sprained Ankle), Hiroki Sakai (Calf Injury), Florian Thauvin (Ankle injury), Boubacar Kamara (Suspension)

Stats and facts: What's at stake ahead of matchday six?

  • Dijon have failed to score in 12 of their last 13 away matches
  • Strasbourg have failed to win 12 of their last 13 matches...
  • ...and none of their last seven at home
  • Toulouse have failed to win their last 11 away matches
  • Strasbourg, Monaco, and Dijon are the only teams yet to win a game so far this season
  • Lyon are undefeated in 11 of their last 12 home matches
  • Saint-Etienne are undefeated in their last 10 matches against Angers in all competitions
  • Amiens have failed to win their last 12 away games (D5 L7). That's their longest winless run on the road in their top flight history

Talking points ahead of matchday six

Monaco's leaky defense continues to cost them dearly...

They're the three teams still yet to win a fixture. Although Monaco put up a good fight against Marseille, it still wasn't enough as they succumbed to a 4-3 defeat. Although it is still early on, a sense of frustration surely must be setting in for Les Rouges-et-Blancs, as it wasn't too long ago that they successfully pipped PSG to the Ligue 1 title, yet last term, they were involved in a much unwanted relegation battle.

One thing is clear: they need to get their defense in order. Having conceded 14 goals, Monaco's defense so far is the worst out of any team in the top flight.

...while playing at home offers no respite for Strasbourg so far. Will they end that against Nantes?

As for Strasbourg, they were left bitterly disappointed from their last fixture, during which they held PSG scoreless until Neymar's moment of individual brilliance broke them down in the last minutes of the match. They're now in action against Nantes, but playing at home has offered little comforts for Strasbourg, who have failed to win any of their last seven on home turf (four draws, three defeats).

Dijon's goal-scoring woes - when will it end?

Dijon, meanwhile not only sit bottom of the table, but have some major issues when it comes to finding the back of the net. Here's a troublesome stat: They're the only team yet to score a goal in the second half so far this season.

How many goals have the bottom-placed team scored? One. That was on matchday one against Saint-Etienne, and they haven't scored since.

Ligue 1 Matchday six listings

Here's all the matches taking place on matchday six:

Strasbourg vs Nantes Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 20 September 2:45pm ET / 7:45pm BST / 8:45pm CET
Stadium: Stade de la Meinau (Strasbourg)
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: Canal+ Sport
Germany: TeleClub Sport Live
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Malaysia: beIN Sports Connect Malaysia
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique
Spain: Movistar+, Movistar Liga de Campeones 1
Turkey: Digiturk Play, beIN SPORTS MAX 2, beIN CONNECT Turkey
United Kingdom: BT Sport Extra
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV, Fanatiz USA

Olympique Marseille vs Montpellier Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 21 September 11:30am ET / 4:30pm BST / 5:30pm CET
Stadium: Orange Vélodrome (Marseille)
Australia: TV5MONDE Pacifique, Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: Canal+ France
Germany: TeleClub Sport Live, DAZN
India: TV5MONDE Asie
Indonesia: TV5MONDE Asie, beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Malaysia: TV5MONDE Asie, beIN Sports Connect Malaysia
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique, TV5Monde Afrique
Portugal: Eleven Sports 4 Portugal
Spain: Movistar+, Movistar Liga de Campeones 3
United States: TV5 Monde, Fanatiz USA, beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV

Bordeaux vs Brest Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 21 September 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Stade Matmut-Atlantique (Bordeaux)
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN Sports MAX 4, beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Portugal: Eleven Sports 5 Portugal
United States: Fanatiz USA, fuboTV, beIN SPORTS CONNECT

Metz vs Amiens SC Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 21 September 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Stade Saint-Symphorien (Longeville-lès-Metz)
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, beIN Sports MAX 5

Nice vs Dijon Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 21 September 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Allianz Riviera (Nice)
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN Sports MAX 6, beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Turkey: Digiturk Play, beIN SPORTS MAX 2, beIN CONNECT Turkey
United States: Fanatiz USA, fuboTV, beIN SPORTS CONNECT

Nîmes vs Toulouse Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 21 September 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Stade des Costières (Nîmes)
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, beIN Sports MAX 7

Reims vs Monaco Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 21 September 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Stade Auguste-Delaune II (Reims)
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN Sports MAX 8, beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Germany: TeleClub Sport Live, DAZN
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Malaysia: beIN Sports Connect Malaysia
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique
Portugal: Eleven Sports 4 Portugal
Spain: Movistar Liga de Campeones 3, Movistar+
Turkey: beIN SPORTS MAX 1, beIN CONNECT Turkey, Digiturk Play
United Kingdom: BT Sport Extra
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV, Fanatiz USA

Rennes vs Lille Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 22 September 9:00am ET / 2:00pm BST / 3:00pm CET
Stadium: Roazhon Park (Rennes)
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, beIN Sports 1
Germany: TeleClub Sport Live, Sport1 +, DAZN
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Malaysia: beIN Sports Connect Malaysia
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport Afrique
Portugal: Eleven Sports 4 Portugal
Turkey: beIN CONNECT Turkey, beIN SPORTS MAX 2, Digiturk Play
United Kingdom: BT Sport Live, BT Sport 3
United States: Fanatiz USA, fuboTV, beIN SPORTS CONNECT

Angers SCO vs Saint-Étienne Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 22 September 11:00am ET / 4:00pm BST / 5:00pm CET
Stadium: Stade Raymond-Kopa (Angers)
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, beIN Sports 1
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Malaysia: beIN Sports Connect Malaysia
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport 4 Afrique
Turkey: Digiturk Play, beIN SPORTS MAX 2, beIN CONNECT Turkey
United Kingdom: BT Sport Live, BT Sport 3
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV, Fanatiz USA

Olympique Lyonnais vs PSG Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 22 September 3:00pm ET / 8:00pm BST / 9:00pm CET
Stadium: Groupama Stadium (Décines-Charpieu)
Australia: beIN SPORTS 3, Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: Canal+ France
Germany: DAZN, TeleClub Sport Live
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Malaysia: beIN Sports Connect Malaysia
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique
Portugal: Eleven Sports 2 Portugal
Spain: Movistar+, #Vamos, Movistar Liga de Campeones
Turkey: Digiturk Play, beIN Sports 4 Turkey, beIN CONNECT Turkey
United Kingdom: BT Sport 1, BT Sport Ultimate, BT Sport Live
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, Fanatiz USA, fuboTV

 

Outras notícias