Group F analysis: Argentina, Portugal, South Africa, South Korea - FIFA U-20 World Cup 2019 teams

Argentina

Argentina is one of the biggest favorites for the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup. This isn't for no reason as the South Americans are the most successful nation in this competition. The trip to Poland will be their 16th appearance, having lifted the title six times in their previous 15 cameos.

Despite some early disappointments in the 2019 South American U-20 Championship, La Albiceleste managed to finish strong in this competition. They finished behind Ecuador on two occasions, once in the group stage and once more in the final stage, but Argentina will fancy their odds in this group nonetheless.

Portugal

Portugal's record in this competition isn't bad in comparison to Argentina's. The European outfit will be making their 12th appearance and has lifted the title twice before -- albeit their last success was back in 1991. However, Hélio Sousa's route to Poland was far more impressive.

They head into the tournament as the 2018 UEFA U-18 European champions, having won the trophy in a thrilling final. Portugal faced Italy in the ultimate game and despite a late comeback from the Azzurri, Sousa's men won the game in extra time.

South Africa

The Amajita will be making their fourth appearance in the FIFA U-20 World Cup next month, but their track record does not read well. South Africa has made the knockout stage before, reaching the round of 16 in 2009. However, their two other cameos ended in group-stage exits, finishing third in their group in their debut and coming in dead last in 2017. Nonetheless, this is a new African side, one that finished third in the 2019 Africa U-20 Cup of Nations.

South Korea

Will winning this title make up for missing out on the 2018 AFC U-19 Championship? Probably so, but they will face a tougher task if they wish to make the final. Saudi Arabia denied them continental glory last year and now the likes of South Africa, Portugal, and Argentine will compete with them for a spot in the knockout stage.

FIFA U-20 World Cup fixtures - Group F

Portugal U20 vs Korea Republic U20 Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 25 May 9:30am ET / 2:30pm BST / 3:30pm CET
Stadium: Stadion Miejski (Bielsko-Biała)
Canada: TSN GO, TSN2
Nigeria: SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 7 Nigeria
Portugal: RTP Play, RTP 1
United States: fuboTV, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo

Argentina U20 vs South Africa U20 Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 25 May 2:30pm ET / 7:30pm BST / 8:30pm CET
Stadium: Stadion Miejski (Tychy)
Argentina: DIRECTV Sports Argentina, DIRECTV Play Deportes
Canada: TSN GO, TSN2
Nigeria: SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 7 Nigeria
South Africa: SuperSport 3, SuperSport 7 Africa
United States: fuboTV, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, Telemundo

Portugal U20 vs Argentina U20 Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Tuesday 28 May 12:00pm ET / 5:00pm BST / 6:00pm CET
Stadium: Stadion Miejski (Bielsko-Biała)
Argentina: DIRECTV Play Deportes, DIRECTV Sports Argentina
Canada: TSN GO, TSN4
Portugal: RTP Play, RTP 1
United Kingdom: FreeSports TV UK
United States: UNIVERSO, UNIVERSO NOW, fuboTV, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, Fox Sports 2, FOX Sports GO

South Africa U20 vs Korea Republic U20 Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Tuesday 28 May 2:30pm ET / 7:30pm BST / 8:30pm CET
Stadium: Stadion Miejski (Tychy)
Canada: TSN4, TSN GO
United Kingdom: FreeSports TV UK
United States: fuboTV, Fox Sports 2, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, FOX Sports GO

South Africa U20 vs Portugal U20 Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 31 May 2:30pm ET / 7:30pm BST / 8:30pm CET
Stadium: Stadion Miejski (Bielsko-Biała)
Canada: TSN1, TSN GO
Portugal: RTP Play, RTP 1
United States: fuboTV, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo

Korea Republic U20 vs Argentina U20 Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 31 May 2:30pm ET / 7:30pm BST / 8:30pm CET
Stadium: Stadion Miejski (Tychy)
Argentina: DIRECTV Play Deportes, DIRECTV Sports Argentina
Canada: TSN4, TSN GO
United Kingdom: FreeSports TV UK
United States: UNIVERSO NOW, UNIVERSO, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, fuboTV, Fox Soccer Plus

2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup full fixtures and broadcast listings

Outras notícias