Liga MX - How to watch the return legs of the Quarter-finals

The Quarter-final stage of the Apertura 2021 in the Mexican top-flight saw eight teams trying to get a lead during the first legs of their series. Luckily for us, those who grabbed leads after the first 90 minutes did not get commanding differences between them and their rivals, which means that this weekend's clashes may very well be some of the most exciting we've seen in the tournament so far.

There are some basic notions you need to keep an eye on before the games begin. First off, the away goals rule is no longer in effect, which means that the aggregate score will be the first deciding factor in all ties. Secondly, you need to keep in mind that all top-seeded teams have an edge over their rivals, which means that those teams from the fifth seed to the eighth will necessarily have to score more goals than their rivals to make it to the semi-finals.

With two games set to take place on Saturday and two more on Sunday, fans will be able to catch all matches wherever they are with this guide. Without further ado, here are the fixtures that will take place this weekend in chronological order. Between each bracket you will find each team's seeding for this round.

América (1) vs Pumas UNAM (8) - Saturday, November 27 at 20:00 ET

América were the most consistent team during the regular season, which helped them book their spot in the liguilla with five games to spare. Pumas booked their place in the final round with a win in their last match, and while their momentum seems to be enough to try and beat América, Pumas will have to overcome their own demons to do so. América were heavily criticized for their defensive approach in the previous leg, which ended in a goalless draw, and it remains to be seen if their defense can keep it together against the combative Auriazul side.

Did you know? América and Pumas have played eleven liguilla games at Estadio Azteca. América have claimed seven wins, while Pumas have only taken home a victory there once.

América vs Pumas UNAM Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 27 November 8:00pm ET / 1:00am GMT / 2:00am CET
Stadium: Estadio Azteca (Ciudad de México (D.F.))
Canada: OneSoccer, fuboTV Canada
Mexico: Canal 5 Televisa, TUDN, TUDN En Vivo, Blim TV
Spain: Footters
United States: Univision, TUDN USA, TUDN.com, fuboTV, Univision NOW, TUDN App

Atlas (2) vs Monterrey (7) - Saturday, November 27 at 22:05 ET

Los Rojinegros escaped Monterrey's fortress with a goalless draw, and while it may seem that they have the upper hand in this game, Monterrey certainly have the tools to take away the ticket to the semis. Monterrey managed to eliminate defending champions Cruz Azul with an emphatic 4-1 win away from home in the Wild Card Round, and they will surely try to repeat that feat against the No.2 seed. Atlas have shown impressive defensive skills during the entire regular season, and that strength could surely give Atlas their first trip to the semi-finals after years of waiting.

Did you know? Atlas are the Liga MX team with the longest title drought among its current participants, after being able to win their first -and only- title back in 1951.

Atlas vs Monterrey Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 27 November 10:05pm ET / 3:05am GMT / 4:05am CET
Stadium: Estadio Jalisco (Guadalajara)
Canada: Univision Canada
Mexico: Canal 5 Televisa, TUDN En Vivo, Blim TV, Afizzionados, Azteca Deportes En Vivo, TUDN, Azteca 7, ESPN2 Norte, Star+
United States: TUDN USA, TUDN.com, fuboTV, TUDN App

Tigres UANL (4) vs Santos Laguna (5) - Sunday, November 28 at 19:00 ET

The blue and gold team recovered from a slow start in the first leg and reduced Santos' lead to one goal, and while they will surely have home-field advantage for this game, they should note that Santos were one of the best away teams in the league. Los Guerreros will try to hold on to their 2-1 lead with goalkeeper Carlos Acevedo leading the pack, while players such as Matheus Doria and Fernando Gorriarán will try to keep Tigres' star-studded cast at bay. On the other hand, Tigres will surely rely on André-Pierre Gignac to lead the comeback, especially since his goal during the first leg could make things easier for them this Sunday.

Did you know? Tigres have not lost any of their last eleven games at home when facing Santos in all competitions.

Tigres UANL vs Santos Laguna Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 28 November 7:00pm ET / 12:00am GMT / 1:00am CET
Stadium: Estadio Universitario de Nuevo León (San Nicolás de los Garza)
Canada: OneSoccer, fuboTV Canada
Mexico: Canal 5 Televisa, Blim TV, Afizzionados, TUDN, ESPN2 Norte, TUDN En Vivo, Star+
Spain: Footters
United States: TUDN.com, fuboTV, TUDN USA, TUDN App

León (3) vs Puebla (6) - Sunday, November 28 at 21:05 ET

Without barely making any noise, León climbed to the third spot of the league and will now be forced to beat Puebla if they want to keep going in the tournament. The Apertura 2020 champions, led by Ariel Holán, need to overcome the 2-1 result from the first leg in order to reach the semi-finals, which may not be as easy as initially expected. Puebla got to this game in high spirits after defeating Chivas in the Wild Card Round, and some might say that this version of Los Camoteros could go all the way if they can hold on to their narrow lead.

Did you know? These teams played against each other for the 1991-92 title. Back then, León took the title home after a thrilling clash that went to overtime and concluded with a 2-0 score for Los Panzas Verdes.

León vs Puebla Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 28 November 9:05pm ET / 2:05am GMT / 3:05am CET
Stadium: Estadio León (Nou Camp) (León de los Aldamas)
Canada: Univision Canada
Mexico: Marca Claro, Fox Sports App, Fanatiz Mexico, Fox Sports 2 Cono Norte, Claro Sports
United States: TUDN.com, TUDN USA, TUDN App, fuboTV

Once these games come to an end, keep track of what will come next in the Mexican top-flight by bookmarking our dedicated Liga MX website.

Outras notícias