Most-watched soccer games on U.S. TV: Sept. 7-13

Cristiano Ronaldo delivered the show soccer fans around the planet craved for, scoring a brace against Newcastle in his first game back at Old Trafford as a Red Devil. An average of 537,000 viewers in the USA got to watch Manchester United's 4-1 win against the Toons on USA Network, making it the most-watched soccer game in the USA last week. Ronaldo's return to the Premier League was also screened on Spanish-language channel Universo and averaged 112,000 viewers.

Liverpool's 3-0 away win at Leeds screened on NBC Sports Network was the second most-watched game aired in the USA last week. NBCSN also screened three other games, including Crystal Palace's 3-0 win against Tottenham on Saturday. The average viewership for the four games was 253,000, the most for a channel that screened 2+ games last week.

The third-most watched game of the week was TUDN's Liga MX fixture between Tigres UANL and Leon on Saturday. An average of 292,000 viewers got to watch the last two Mexican champions draw 2-2 at Estadio Universitario. TUDN also screened seven other Liga MX Apertura games, averaging 201,000 viewers per broadcast. 

 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Live Soccer TV (@livesoccertv)

An average of 270,000 viewers watched the USA take down Honduras on Wednesday, Sept. 8, on Universo. Another CONCACAF World Cup Qualifier screened on Universo in Panama's one-all draw against Mexico on the same day. The broadcast averaged 263,000 viewers. The Spanish-language channel also averaged 107,000 viewers during Chelsea's 3-0 win against Aston Villa. 

A USL Championship game between Hartford Athletic and Louisville City on ESPN 2 reached the top ratings last week. Louisville won the game 4-2 on Tuesday, Sept. 7, keeping them at the top of the Eastern Conference Central. The broadcast received a 0.05 viewership rating after 114,000 average viewers. 

USA Network

Saturday, Sept. 11

Premier League: Manchester United 4-1 Newcastle at 9:57 a.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.30
  • Average viewers: 537,000

NBCSN

Saturday, Sept. 11

Premier League: Crystal Palace 3-0 Tottenham at 7:23 a.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.16
  • Average viewers: 245,000

Premier League: Southampton 0-0 West Ham at 10 a.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.05
  • Average viewers: 144,000

Sunday, Sept. 12

Premier League: Leeds 0-3 Liverpool at 11:24 a.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.27
  • Average viewers: 475,000

Monday, Sept. 13

Premier League: Burnley 1-3 Everton at 2:54 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.05
  • Average viewers: 148,000

TUDN 

Friday, Sept. 10 

Liga MX: Puebla 2-2 Atletico San Luis 

  • Viewership rating: 0.05
  • Average viewers: 122,000

Liga MX: Juarez 2-1 Cruz Azul at 10:04 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.09
  • Average viewers: 230,000

Saturday, Sept. 11

Liga MX: Atlas 2-1 Monterrey at 5:55 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.07
  • Average viewers: 188,000

Liga MX: Tigres UANL 2-2 Leon at 8:04 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.11
  • Average viewers: 292,000

Liga MX: America 2-0 Mazatlan at 10:03 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.12
  • Average viewers: 269,000

Sunday, Sept. 12

Liga MX: Pumas UNAM 0-0 Chivas at 5:55 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.10
  • Average viewers: 251,000

Liga MX: Queretaro 3-0 Necaxa at 8 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.06
  • Average viewers: 150,000

Monday, Sept. 13

Liga MX: Pachuca 1-2 Toluca at 9:30 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.04
  • Average viewers: 113,000

UNIVERSO

Wednesday, Sept. 8

FIFA World Cup Qualifier: Panama 1-1 Mexico at 7:30 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.12
  • Average viewers: 263,000

FIFA World Cup Qualifier: Honduras 1-4 USA at 10:08 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.11
  • Average viewers: 270,000

Saturday, Sept. 11

Premier League: Manchester United 4-1 Newcastle at 9:50 a.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.04
  • Average viewers: 112,000

Saturday, Sept. 11

Premier League: Chelsea 4-1 Aston Villa at 12:26 a.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.03
  • Average viewers: 107,000

ESPN2

Tuesday, Sept. 7

FIFA World Cup Qualifier: France 2-0 Finland at 2:30 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.13
  • Average viewers: 215,000

USL Championship: Hartford Athletic 2-4 Louisville City at 7 p.m. ET

  • Viewership rating: 0.05
  • Average viewers: 114,000

Projected top 3 audience games on U.S. TV: Sept. 14-20

Tottenham Hotspur vs Chelsea Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 19 September 11:30am ET / 4:30pm BST / 5:30pm CET
Stadium: Tottenham Hotspur Stadium (London)
Australia: Optus Sport
Canada: DAZN
France: Free, RMC Sport 1, RMC Sport en direct, Canal+ France
Germany: Sky Go, Sky Ticket, Sky Sport UHD, Sky Sport 1/HD
India: Hotstar VIP, JioTV
Indonesia: mola.tv, Mola TV, Mola TV App
Malaysia: Astro SuperSport 3, Astro Go
Nigeria: DStv Now, SuperSport Premier League Nigeria, SuperSport MaXimo 1
Portugal: Sport TV3, Sport TV Multiscreen
Spain: DAZN
Turkey: S Sport+
United Kingdom: NOW, Sky Sports Premier League, Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Go UK, SKY GO Extra
United States: Peacock

Cruz Azul vs Monterrey Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Thursday 16 September 10:00pm ET / 3:00am BST / 4:00am CET
Stadium: Estadio Azteca (Ciudad de México (D.F.))
Canada: OneSoccer, fuboTV Canada
Mexico: Fox Sports 2 Cono Norte, Fox Sports App, Fanatiz Mexico
United States: Foxsports.com, TUDN App, TUDN USA, Fox Sports 2, fuboTV, TUDN.com, FOX Sports App

USA vs Paraguay Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Thursday 16 September 7:30pm ET / 12:30am BST / 1:30am CET
Stadium: FirstEnergy Stadium (Cleveland, Ohio)
Australia: Foxtel Now, WatchESPN Australia
United States: ESPN2, ESPN App, fuboTV

 

Outras notícias