Premier League Matchday 3 preview: Talking points, team news, and key games

2019/20 English Premier League Matchday 3 fixtures - time and date

Friday 23, 2019

  • Aston Villa vs Everton at 15:00 ET/19:00 GMT

Saturday 24, 2019 

  • Norwich City vs Chelsea at 07:30 ET/11:30 GMT

  • Brighton vs Southampton at 10:00 ET/14:00 GMT

  • Man United vs Crystal Palace at 10:00 ET/14:00 GMT

  • Sheffield United vs Leicester City at 10:00 ET/14:00 GMT

  • Watford vs West Ham at 10:00 ET/14:00 GMT

  • Liverpool vs Arsenal at 12:30 ET/16:30 GMT

Sunday 25, 2019

  • Bournemouth vs Man City at 09:00 ET/13:00 GMT

  • Tottenham vs Newcastle at 11:30 ET/15:30 GMT

  • Wolves vs Burnley at 11:30 ET/15:30 GMT

Team news/injuries

Emery confirmed that both Ozil and Xhaka returned to full training. Whether they will make the lineup or be relegated to the bench on Saturday remains unknown. Liverpool, meanwhile, remain without Alisson and will hope for an error-less performance from Adrian. Keita also remains on the sidelines.

Zappacosta has left Chelsea for Roma, meaning Lampard’s list of defenders continues to decrease. Hudson-Odoi is yet to return while Rudiger lacks match fitness. Man United are expected to have an identical squad at their disposal, with Bailly and Dalot both being ruled out.

The same goes for Man City, who are without Sane and Mendy while Stones is a doubt. Tottenham, on the other hand, have welcomed back influential attacker Heung-Min Son from suspension but are without Alli and Sessegnon.

Key stats

  • Since February 2018, no players have scored more Premier League goals than Mohamed Salah (36) and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (34). The two will go head-to-head at Anfield on Saturday.

  • Liverpool and Arsenal are the only two sides to have won their opening two fixtures. This means after Saturday’s Anfield showdown, only one English side can be left with their perfect record in tact at the very best.

  • Firmino boasts a goal-per-game ratio against the Gunners, scoring eight in his eight encounters with the north London giants. This was helped by his hat-trick in their last Anfield clash.

  • With Friday’s Aston Villa vs Everton clash, fans will see the return of the most played fixture in English top-division history (202). Everton vs Liverpool comes in at second with 200, followed by Liverpool vs Arsenal (196).

  • Lampard, who is in search of his first competitive win as Chelsea boss, became the first Blues manager to fail to win his any of his opening three games since Benitez in 2012-13. He won’t be keen on adding to this unwanted tally when they visit Norwich.

What is social media saying ahead of Matchday 3?

Will Pogba bounce back after being racially abused?

Missing that penalty against Wolves was a huge blow for Man United, but there was no excuse for the treatment Pogba got from a small portion of fans. The Frenchman fell victim to racial abuse on social media, namely Twitter, after the 1-1 draw which has brought discrimination back into the headlines.

The midfielder has received support from the masses, which is great to see, and is unfazed ahead of the Crystal Palace showdown, according to the boss. However, it will be interesting to see how he reacts on the pitch. Leading the Red Devils to victory with a spot-kick goal would be the most epic way to silence his haters at the moment.

Arsenal eyeing to end their atrocious Anfield record

Arsenal’s last six visits to Anfield have produced zero wins. Their last three has seen them lose 5-1, 4-0, and 3-1 respectively. Emery will be hoping to put an end to this run; however, defensive frailties remain and the Gunners would be the winners should this game end in a draw. The north London giants have the attacking force to harm Klopp’s men in the form of Aubameyang and Lacazette but it will be interesting if their back-four can withstand the Salah-Mane-Firmino trio.

Live broadcast listings: Top 5 Premier League matches to watch on Matchday 3

Norwich City vs Chelsea Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 24 August 7:30am ET / 12:30pm BST / 1:30pm CET
Stadium: Carrow Road (Norwich, Norfolk)
Australia: Optus Sport
Canada: DAZN
France: RMC Sport en direct, RMC Sport 1, Canal+ France
Germany: Sky Sport 1 HD, Sky Go
India: Star Sports Select 1, Star Sports Select HD1, Hotstar VIP
Indonesia: Mola TV
Malaysia: Astro Go, Astro SuperSport 3
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport Select, Ziggo Sport 14
Nigeria: SuperSport 3 Africa, Canal+ Sport 2 Afrique
Portugal: Sport TV2
Spain: DAZN Spain
Turkey: Idman TV, Digiturk Play, S Sport+, S Sport
United Kingdom: BT Sport Ultimate, BBC Radio 5 Live, TalkSport Radio UK, BT Sport 1, BT Sport Live
United States: Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBCSN, fuboTV, NBC Sports App, NBCSports.com

Manchester United vs Crystal Palace Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 24 August 10:00am ET / 3:00pm BST / 4:00pm CET
Stadium: Old Trafford (Manchester)
Australia: Optus Sport
Canada: DAZN
France: RMC Sport 1, Canal+ France, RMC Sport en direct
Germany: Sky Sport 1 HD, Sky Go
India: Hotstar VIP, Star Sports Select HD1, Star Sports Select 1
Indonesia: Mola TV
Malaysia: Astro SuperSport 3, Astro Go
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport Select, Ziggo Sport 14
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport 2 Afrique, SL2G, SuperSport 3 Africa
Portugal: Sport TV2
Spain: DAZN Spain
Turkey: TRT Spor, Idman TV, Digiturk Play
United Kingdom: Premier Sports 1
United States: NBCSN, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, fuboTV, NBC Sports App, UNIVERSO NOW, NBCSports.com, UNIVERSO

Liverpool vs Arsenal Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 24 August 12:30pm ET / 5:30pm BST / 6:30pm CET
Stadium: Anfield (Liverpool)
Australia: Optus Sport
Canada: DAZN
France: Canal+ France, RMC Sport 1, RMC Sport en direct
Germany: Sky Go, Sky Sport 1 HD
India: Star Sports Select HD1, Hotstar VIP, Star Sports Select 1
Indonesia: Mola TV
Malaysia: Astro Go, Astro SuperSport 3
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport Select, Ziggo Sport 14
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport 2 Afrique, SuperSport 3 Africa
Portugal: Sport TV2
Spain: DAZN Spain
Turkey: S Sport, Digiturk Play, S Sport+, Idman TV
United Kingdom: SKY GO Extra, TalkSport Radio UK, NOW TV, Sky Go UK, Sky Sports Premier League, Sky Sports Main Event
United States: NBCSports.com, NBC Sports App, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, UNIVERSO NOW, NBC, fuboTV, UNIVERSO

AFC Bournemouth vs Manchester City Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 25 August 9:00am ET / 2:00pm BST / 3:00pm CET
Stadium: Vitality Stadium (Bournemouth, Dorset)
Australia: Optus Sport
Canada: DAZN
France: Canal+ Sport, RMC Sport 1, RMC Sport en direct
Germany: Sky Sport UHD, Sky Sport 1 HD, Sky Go
Indonesia: Mola TV, TVRI
Malaysia: Astro Go, Astro SuperSport 3
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport 14, Ziggo Sport Select
Nigeria: Canal+ Sport 2 Afrique, SuperSport 3 Africa
Portugal: Sport TV1
Spain: DAZN Spain
Turkey: S Sport+, S Sport, Digiturk Play, Idman TV
United Kingdom: Sky Sports Premier League, Sky Go UK, Sky Sports Main Event, NOW TV, BBC Radio Manchester, BBC Radio 5 Live, SKY GO Extra
United States: Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBCSN, fuboTV, NBC Sports App, NBCSports.com

Tottenham Hotspur vs Newcastle United Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 25 August 11:30am ET / 4:30pm BST / 5:30pm CET
Stadium: Tottenham Hotspur Stadium (London)
Australia: Optus Sport
Canada: DAZN
France: RMC Sport 1, RMC Sport en direct, Canal+ Sport
Germany: Sky Go, Sky Sport 1 HD
Indonesia: Mola TV
Malaysia: Astro SuperSport 3, Astro Go
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport Select, Ziggo Sport 14
Nigeria: SuperSport 3 Africa, Canal+ Sport 2 Afrique
Portugal: Sport TV4
Spain: DAZN Spain
Turkey: S Sport, S Sport+, Digiturk Play, Idman TV
United Kingdom: SKY GO Extra, Sky Sports Main Event, BBC Radio 5 Live, NOW TV, Sky Go UK, Sky Sports Premier League
United States: NBCSN, fuboTV, Telemundo, NBCSports.com, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBC Sports App

You might also like