Qatar vs USMNT: Will tournament surprises cause upset for CONCACAF heavyweights on July 29th?

Preview: Qatar vs the USMNT

Oftentimes, there's always a surprise package at every major international tournament. And for the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup, that team is none other that Qatar. Ranked 58th in the world as per FIFA, the team, nicknamed the Maroon due the colors in the nation's flag, Felix Sanchez's side weren't given much of a chance when this tournament kicked off.

However, they've managed to really turn things on its head. For starters, rather than finishing bottom of their group, or scrambling to try to squeak into second, Qatar ended up topping a quartet that also included Honduras, Panama, and Grenada. Impressively, they also scored more goals (nine) and conceded fewer times (three) than any one else in the group. And to top it off, it may shock some to know who's presently the tournament's top goal-scorer: 24-year-old Almoez Ali, who was born in Sudan, and plays his club football for Qatari Al-Duhail, has four goals to his name so far. 

Meanwhile, their upcoming opponents, the USMNT, will be looking to avoid suffering the same fate as El Salvador, who were beaten 3-2 by Qatar in the quarter-finals. The Stars and Stripes will take on the winner of the Canada vs. Mexico tie in a clash between two of North America's three countries. So far, Team USA have had an excellent tournament. They cruised through their group stage campaign without much fuss, scoring eight times and conceding just one as they picked up maximum points against Canada, Haiti, and Martinique. 

This will be the first meeting between the two sides in history, at least at the senior level. As things stand, Qatar are presently on a 12 match unbeaten streak, with wins in ten of those, dating back to a November 17, 2020 2-1 defeat to South Korea, while the USMNT have won seven in a row, including their gritty 1-0 win over Jamaica. 

Team news: Qatar vs the USMNT

Both teams will have a full-strength squad, meaning that Qatar and the USMNT will be able to field their strongest starting XIs.

Match facts: Qatar vs the USMNT

  • This will be the first meeting at senior level between Qatar and the USMNT

Where to watch Qatar vs the USMNT live on July 29, 2021

Qatar vs the USMNT kick off at 16:30 PST/19:30 EST/22:30 BST/23:30 CET

USA: FuboTV, Sling TV, TUDN.com, Fox Sports 1, Univision, TUDN App, Foxsports.com, Univision NOW, FOX Sports App, TUDN USA

Qatar: beIN Sports Premium 1, beIN SPORTS CONNECT

Canada: OneSoccer

UK: Premier Player HD, Premier Sports 1

Live elsewhere? Here's where to watch Qatar vs the USMNT live from your current location:

Qatar vs USA Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Thursday 29 July 7:30pm ET / 12:30am BST / 1:30am CET
Stadium: Q2 Stadium (Austin, Texas)
Canada: OneSoccer
Germany: sportdigital
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia, Mola TV, beIN Sports 1 Indonesia, Mola TV App, mola.tv
Malaysia: beIN Sports Malaysia, beIN Sports Connect Malaysia
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport Select, Ziggo Sport 14
Qatar: beIN Sports Premium 1, beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Spain: Gol
Turkey: beIN CONNECT Turkey
United Kingdom: Premier Player HD, Premier Sports 1
United States: Foxsports.com, TUDN App, Univision, Univision NOW, fuboTV, TUDN USA, TUDN.com, Fox Sports 1, FOX Sports App

 

 

 

Ti potrebbero interessare anche