UEFA eEURO 2020: Italy beats Serbia to win the first-ever title

It started with 55 teams and, eventually, there was just one! Sunday's UEFA eEuro 2020 tournament ended with Italy defeating Serbia to lift the trophy in the inaugural edition of the tournament.

Following the postponement of the real competition which would have ensued this summer but for the coronavirus pandemic, UEFA saw the need to organize the eEuro 2020 finals to replicate the experience. This was done through Konami's eFootball Pro Evolution Soccer 2020 on Playstation 4.

The tournament began with 55 nations featuring in the playoffs back in April. Each country had between two to four gamers representing it. In the end 16 teams qualified for the knockout stage which eventually boiled down to a showdown between Serbia and Italy.

Having defeated tough competitors in the Netherlands and Romania, Serbia was tipped as favorites to carry the day. However, the side, represented by gamer, Kepa PFC, started off on the wrong foot by losing the first of five-match final. In the second game, Serbia redeemed itself to tie the game at one-all by battering Italy 5-1.

The Azzuri then regained its lead with a 1-0 scoreline in Game 3, entering the next game with a foot behind the finishing line. Game 4 proved to be a tensed encounter although, ultimately, Italy's representative known as Napels17X ensured that there was no need for Game 5.

He started off by grabbing the opener through Quagliarella after a well-worked free-kick routine. Kepa PFC then equalized with a sublime acrobatic finish by Luka Jovic before Lorenzo Insigne sealed the win at the death with a goal of the tournament contender. Watch all the goals from the grand finale below:

With three wins in five rounds of final matches, Italy lifted the first-ever edition of UEFA's national team efootball competition. The side beat both Israel and France 2:0 in the quarterfinals and semi-finals to setup the encounter with Serbia.

Anda mungkin juga tertarik