Group A: Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe - AFCON 2019

What is the record of the teams at the AFCON?

Egypt

To state it simply, Egypt is one of the favorites to win the competition. While the Pharaohs are only the eighth highest-ranked African nation by FIFA, the host nation is the most successful team in Africa Cup of Nations history. They hold the record for most titles, having won this biennial tournament a whopping seven times -- next-in-line Cameroon trail them by two. Furthermore, Egypt is the only country to have won this prize three times in a row from 2006 to 2010, joining Argentina and Mexico as the only nations to win their continental cup on three consecutive editions.

DR Congo

DR Congo, ranked 46th in the world and fifth in Africa, is on the haunt for a third ACFON title. The Leapords have been crowned the kings of Africa twice before but it should be noted that their last success came back in 1974. Since then, they have won bronze on two different occasions, once in 1998 and then again in 2015, but crashed out of the quarter-finals in the last tournament.

Uganda 

Uganda will be making back-to-back Africa Cup of Nations appearances for the first time since 1978. Their qualification for the 2017 edition ended their whopping 39-year absence from the competition but the Cranes crashed out in the group stage in Gabon two years ago. Never have they won this competition before, with their fourth-placed and second-placed finishes in 1962 and 1978 being their best ever campaigns.

Zimbabwe

The odds don't back Zimbabwe in Group A. This will be only their fourth appearance in this competition and they have failed to make it past the group stages in their three previous attempts. Of the nine AFCON games the Warriors have played, six ended in defeats and only two saw them emerge victorious. However, it should be noted that Zimbabwe beat Group A rival DR Congo to the number one spot in the qualifiers, which will be a confidence booster.

Who are the favorites to progress out of Group A?

Egypt, as the host nation and the most successful team in this competition's history, should make it to the knockout round. The question of who will follow them is a tricky one. Zimbabwe, despite their poor record in the Africa Cup of Nations, won their group in the qualifiers, as did Uganda. However, due to their experience, we expect DR Congo to secure progression.

Who are the key players to watch in Group A?

  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt)

  • Yannick Bolasie (DR Congo)

  • Knowledge Musona (Zimbabwe)

What are the 2019 AFCON Group A fixtures?

Egypt vs Zimbabwe Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 21 June 4:00pm ET / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CET
Stadium: Cairo International Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, beIN Sports Canada, DAZN, fuboTV Canada
Egypt: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Nigeria: SuperSport 7 Nigeria, SuperSport 4, SL2G, SuperSport 10, SL2G, SuperSport 7 Africa
Portugal: Eurosport 2 Portugal
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS, Fanatiz USA, fuboTV, beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Zimbabwe: SuperSport 7 Africa, SL2G, SuperSport 4, SuperSport 10, SL2G

Congo DR vs Uganda Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 22 June 10:30am ET / 3:30pm BST / 4:30pm CET
Stadium: Cairo International Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, fuboTV Canada
Congo DR: SuperSport 4, SuperSport 7 Africa, SL2G
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
Nigeria: SuperSport 4, SL2G, SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 7 Nigeria
Portugal: Eurosport 2 Portugal
Uganda: SuperSport 7 Africa, SuperSport 4, SL2G
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV, Fanatiz USA

Uganda vs Zimbabwe Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Wednesday 26 June 1:00pm ET / 6:00pm BST / 7:00pm CET
Stadium: Cairo International Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, fuboTV Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: Fanatiz USA, fuboTV, beIN SPORTS CONNECT

Egypt vs Congo DR Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Wednesday 26 June 4:00pm ET / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CET
Stadium: Cairo International Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports
Canada: fuboTV Canada, beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
Egypt: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
United Kingdom: EuroSport 2 UK, EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV, Fanatiz USA

Uganda vs Egypt Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 30 June 3:00pm ET / 8:00pm BST / 9:00pm CET
Stadium: Cairo International Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, fuboTV Canada
Egypt: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK
United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, Fanatiz USA, fuboTV

Zimbabwe vs Congo DR Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 30 June 3:00pm ET / 8:00pm BST / 9:00pm CET
Stadium: 30 June Air Defence Stadium (al-Qāhirah (Cairo))
Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect
Canada: fuboTV Canada, beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT
Indonesia: beIN Sports Connect Indonesia
United Kingdom: EuroSport Player UK
United States: Fanatiz USA, beIN SPORTS CONNECT, fuboTV

Anda mungkin juga tertarik