Man City vs Leicester is live in 170 countries on September 27, 2020: here's how to watch it

Man City vs Leicester – Preview 

Man City are gearing up for their first home game of the 2020/21 Premier League season and what a first home game that will be. Having beaten Wolves 3-1 in their opening game, next up for Pep Guardiola’s side is a highly-anticipated showdown with Leicester, one of a handful of clubs that have won both of their opening two matches. 

The Foxes lost their most recent game, a 2-0 defeat to Arsenal in the Carabao Cup. It should be noted that Brendan Rodgers rested many key players for their Man City showdown, hence the poor result. In the league, Vardy and Co. have been nothing short of rampant, beating  West Brom 3-0 in the opening round before thrashing Burnley 4-2 on Matchday 2.

This could be a point of worry for the Citizens. In their previous Premier League encounter, the beat Wolves 3-1 at the Molineux Stadium, which is a difficult ground to win at. Nonetheless, despite the comfortable score line, the game was anything but comfortable, as Jimenez and Co. troubled Guardiola’s back-four way too often. Unfortunately, Nuno’s men squandered many opportunities but we don’t expect the same from Vardy and Co.

Another issue for Pep is their number nine, or lack thereof one for Sunday’s showdown. Gabriel Jesus has joined Sergio Aguero on the sidelines – more on that later – to leave the Spanish tactician without a senior striker. It will be interesting to see how Guardiola remedies this issue.

Team news

Man City: Sergio Aguero, Bernardo Silva, Joao Cancelo and Oleksandr Zinchenko all remain sidelined for the Citizens. Nicolas Otamendi is a doubt, Aymeric Laporte may not feature due to a lack of fitness, and Ilkay Gundogan is recovering from COVID-19 and will thus play no part.

However, the most recent and most worrying is the knock to Gabriel Jesus. The Brazilian picked up a knock in the win over Wolves and will be unavailable for three weeks, leaving Pep without a senior no.9 for at least three games.

Leicester: Wilfred Ndidi is set to undergo a surgery for his abductor injury and will thus be out. Jonny Evans should be back for this tie. Demarai Gray and full-back Ricardo Pereira are both out.

Key stats

  • Man City have not lost to Leicester since a 1-2 Boxing Day defeat in 2018/19.

  • The Citizens have won six of their last seven encounters with the Foxes (L1).

  • Leicester have not won at the Etihad Stadium since beating them 3-1 in 2015/16.

  • The King Power Stadium outfit have never won their first three games of an English top-flight season.

  • Man City have not lost the opening home game of the top-flight campaign in 25 seasons (W16, D9).

Where to watch Man City vs Leicester live on September 27, 2020

City-Leicester kick off at 08:30 PT/11:30 ET/15:30 GMT/17:30 CET

USA: Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, Telemundo, NBCSports.com, SiriusXM FC, NBCSN, NBC Sports App

Australia: Optus Sport

Canada: DAZN

UK: Sky Sports Premier League, BBC Radio Manchester, Sky Ultra HD, Sky Sports Main Event, SKY GO Extra, BBC Radio, BBC Radio 5 Live

Live elsewhere? Here's where to watch Dortmund vs Bayern in your current location:

Manchester City vs Leicester City Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 27 September 11:30am ET / 4:30pm BST / 5:30pm CET
Stadium: Etihad Stadium (Manchester)
Australia: Optus Sport
Canada: DAZN
France: Free, RMC Sport 1, RMC Sport en direct, Canal+ Sport
Germany: Sky Sport 1/HD, Sky Go, Sky Sport UHD, Sky Ticket
India: Hotstar VIP, Star Sports Select HD2, Star Sports Select 2
Indonesia: Mola TV App, mola.tv
Malaysia: Astro SuperSport 3, Astro Go
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport Select, Ziggo Sport 14
Nigeria: SuperSport Premier League Nigeria, Canal+ Sport 2 Afrique, SuperSport Maximo, DStv Now
Portugal: Sport TV2, Sport TV LIVE
Turkey: S Sport+, S Sport
United Kingdom: Sky Sports Premier League, Sky Sports Main Event, BBC Radio, Sky Ultra HD, BBC Radio 5 Live, Sky Go UK, NOW TV, SKY GO Extra, BBC Radio Manchester
United States: NBCSN, SiriusXM FC, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBCSports.com, NBC Sports App, fuboTV, Telemundo

Autres nouvelles