Primeira Liga - Team news, key fixtures ahead of Matchday 6

The 2019-20 Primeira Liga season is picking up a good pace, with Famalicao still holding on to the top spot after five weeks.

All activity in Matchday 6 of the Primeira Liga will kick off on Friday, with Aves' visit to Pacos de Ferreira. Benfica will have the stellar match on Saturday when they make the trip to face Moreirense. Earlier that day, Belenenses will host Rio Ave in what should be a tricky match for both desperate teams to make an impact.

Sunday will be the busiest day in the Portuguese league, as four games will be taking place. The clash between Porto and Santa Clara could have a major impact in the league's standings.

All action will come to an end on Monday, with two games set to be played. Famalicao's visit to Sporting will be the highlight of Matchday 6, as it will represent the first major test for the current league leaders. On the other hand, Sporting needs all points to get back on track, or their coach could be suffering the consequences of this slow start.

Team news - Who's in, who's out?

  • Benfica will have to face this weekend's game without six players, as Germán Conti, Tyronne Ebuehi, Chiquinho, Carlos Vinicius, Gabriel Pires and Florentino Luis have been ruled out for this game due to injury.

  • Porto will host Santa Clara without two players. Alex Telles will have to serve a ban due to his red card against Portimonense, and Sergio Oliveira will sit this one out due to injury.

  • Sporting may have to face Famalicao without six players. Stefan Ristovski, Jeremy Mathieu and Luiz Phellype are out due to injury, while Bruno Fernandes will have to serve a ban. Jesé and Josip Misic will be assessed before the game to determine their availability.

  • League leaders Famalicao will only have to deal with Roderick Miranda's absence for Monday's clash.

Quotes ahead of Matchday 6

Porto's boss Sergio Conceicao has admitted that his team needs a bit more time to adapt to a new playing style, which was used for their clash against Young Boys in their UEFA Europa League debut. The new signings and the new tactical approach will need more time to make fans realize what he wants from his crew.

"It's the start of the season and we are getting better with each passing game. We need our players to get to know each other, so all actions on the pitch are a routine to them. But it's normal, it's just September. There will be times in which we rotate and there will be times, like now, in which some players will have earned more minutes."

Key stats ahead of Primeira Liga's Matchday 6

  • Famalicao and Boavista are the only Primeira Liga teams yet to lose a game this season.

  • Benfica enters this week's match on an 11-game winning streak away from home.

  • Porto enters this game on a seven-match winning streak at their own stadium.

  • Benfica's Pizzi is the league's top scorer with six goals in five games for the Eagles.

  • This will be the first game between Sporting and Famalicao in over two years. The Lions had not faced the Azuls e Brancos since November 16, 2017. That game ended in a 2-0 win for Sporting.

What is social media talking about ahead of Matchday 6?

The worst fears were confirmed by Benfica's coach Bruno Lage ahead of the weekend, as his squad for the game against Moreirense is a bit depleted. Even so, André Almeida's return means good news for the red and white side.

Primeira Liga - Matchday 6 games

Paços de Ferreira vs Desportivo Aves Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Friday 20 September 3:30pm ET / 8:30pm BST / 9:30pm CET
Stadium: Estádio da Capital do Móvel (Paços de Ferreira)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV1

Belenenses vs Rio Ave Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 21 September 1:00pm ET / 6:00pm BST / 7:00pm CET
Stadium: Estádio Nacional (Jamor, Oeiras)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV5
United States: Fanatiz USA, GolTV Espanol, fuboTV, GOLTV

Moreirense vs Benfica Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Saturday 21 September 3:30pm ET / 8:30pm BST / 9:30pm CET
Stadium: Parque Desportivo Comendador Joaquim de Almeida Freitas (Moreira de Cónegos)
Australia: RTPi
Canada: RTPi
France: RMC Sport 1, RMC Sport en direct, RTPi
Germany: RTPi, sportdigital
Portugal: RTP África, Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV1
Spain: RTPi
United Kingdom: RTPi
United States: Fanatiz USA, RTPi, GOLTV, fuboTV, GolTV Espanol

Gil Vicente vs Boavista Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 22 September 10:30am ET / 3:30pm BST / 4:30pm CET
Stadium: Estádio Cidade de Barcelos (Barcelos)
Portugal: Sport TV1, Sport TV LIVE
United States: Fanatiz USA, GolTV Espanol, fuboTV, GOLTV

Tondela vs Vitória Guimarães Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 22 September 1:00pm ET / 6:00pm BST / 7:00pm CET
Stadium: Estádio João Cardoso (Tondela)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE

Vitória Setúbal vs Portimonense Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 22 September 1:00pm ET / 6:00pm BST / 7:00pm CET
Stadium: Estádio do Bonfim (Setúbal)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE

Porto vs Santa Clara Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Sunday 22 September 3:30pm ET / 8:30pm BST / 9:30pm CET
Stadium: Estádio Do Dragão (Porto)
France: RMC Sport en direct, RMC Sport 1
Germany: sportdigital
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV1
Turkey: S Sport+, S Sport 2
United States: GolTV Espanol, fuboTV, GOLTV, Fanatiz USA

Sporting Braga vs Marítimo Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Monday 23 September 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Estádio Municipal de Braga (Braga)
Portugal: Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV2

Sporting CP vs Famalicão Broadcast Information

Kick-off time: Monday 23 September 4:00pm ET / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CET
Stadium: Estádio José Alvalade (Lisboa)
France: RMC Sport en direct, RMC Sport 2
Germany: sportdigital
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport Voetbal
Portugal: Sport TV1, Sport TV LIVE
United States: GOLTV, Fanatiz USA, fuboTV, GolTV Espanol
 

Andere Neuigkeiten