Ronaldo adds more fuel to the Cristiano-Messi rivalry

Being experienced enough to talk about the Barcelona-Real Madrid rivalry, former striker Ronaldo Nazario shared his views on the battle to become the best player in the world between Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

The Brazilian ace failed to reach a final verdict on who is the best player of the pair, and while he praised both of them, his words seemed to give Messi the edge over his Portuguese colleague.

"With his incredible attitude and strength of mind, Cristiano Ronaldo is one-of-a-kind. But I have to admit that Lionel Messi has the kind of magic that makes football special. His dribbles and his overall skills always create something special in front of goal," Ronaldo told Sport Bild.

Speaking about how both of them rank among football's all-time greats, Ronaldo admitted that each of them would need to win the upcoming World Cup if they want to be considered true footballing gods.

"Only time will tell where they will rank in the history of football, but honestly, winning a World Cup always helps to be considered one of the greatest of all time," Ronaldo added.

Cristiano Ronaldo will make his 2018 World Cup debut on Friday, while Messi is set to take center-stage on Saturday.

Portugal vs Spain TV and Streaming Schedule

Kick-off time: Friday 15 June 2:00pm ET / 7:00pm BST / 8:00pm CET
Stadium: Olimpiyskiy Stadion Fisht (Sochi)
Australia: SBS Radio 2, SBS Radio 1, SBS Radio 3, SBS Live, Optus Sport, SBS
Canada: RDS GO, TSN5, TSN Radio 1040 - 1410, TSN4, RDS, TSN GO
France: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, TF1, beIN Sports 1, beIN Sports 2, TF1 Live
Germany: Sky Go Deutschland, ARD Das Erste, Sky Sport UHD Germany, ORF TV Live, ORF eins, Sportschau Live, SRF zwei
India: SONY TEN 2, SONY TEN 3 HD, SONY TEN 2 HD, SONY TEN 3, Sony LIV, Sony ESPN, Sony ESPN HD
Indonesia: UseeTV, Trans TV
Malaysia: Astro Go, Astro FIFA World Cup 1 HD
Netherlands: NPO 1, Één
Nigeria: Kwesé FIFA World Cup, SuperSport 3 Africa, SLGO, SuperSport 14, SuperSport 3 Nigeria, StarTimes App, SS13, Kwesé Live, SuperSport Live, Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique
Portugal: Sport TV1, Antena 1 - RTP, RTP Play, RTP 1, Sport TV LIVE
Spain: Mediaset Sport App, TeleCinco Espana
Turkey: Idman TV, TRT 1, TRT Spor Web TV, TRT 4K
United Kingdom: BBC Sport Live, BBC One, BBC iPlayer, TalkSport Radio UK, BBC Radio 5 Live
United States: FOX Network, Futbol de Primera Radio, FOX Sports GO, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, Telemundo, fuboTV

Argentina vs Iceland TV and Streaming Schedule

Kick-off time: Saturday 16 June 9:00am ET / 2:00pm BST / 3:00pm CET
Stadium: Otkrytiye Arena (Moskva)
Argentina: Canal de las Estrellas, DIRECTV Play Deportes, TyC Sports Play, DIRECTV Sports Argentina, Canal 7 TV Publica, TyC Sports Argentina
Australia: SBS Radio 1, SBS Radio 2, Optus Sport, SBS Radio 3
Canada: CTV, CTV GO, TSN Radio 1040 - 1410, TSN4, TSN5, TSN3, TSN1, RDS, RDS GO, TSN GO
France: beIN Sports 1, beIN SPORTS CONNECT, beIN Sports 2
Germany: Sportschau Live, ORF TV Live, SRF zwei, ZDF, Sky Sport UHD Germany, Sky Go Deutschland, ORF eins
Iceland: RUV Radio, RUV
India: SONY TEN 2 HD, Sony ESPN HD, SONY TEN 2, SONY TEN 3, SONY TEN 3 HD, Sony ESPN, Sony LIV
Indonesia: UseeTV, Trans TV
Malaysia: Astro Go, Astro FIFA World Cup 1 HD
Netherlands: Één, NPO 1
Nigeria: SuperSport 3 Africa, SS13, StarTimes App, Canal+ Sport 1 Afrique, Kwesé FIFA World Cup, Kwesé Free Sports, Kwesé Live, SuperSport 3 Nigeria, SuperSport 14, SuperSport Live, SLGO
Portugal: SIC, Sport TV LIVE, Sport TV1
Spain: Mediaset Sport App, Cuatro
Turkey: Idman TV, TRT Spor Web TV, TRT 4K, TRT 1
United Kingdom: UTV, The ITV Hub, STV Scotland, TalkSport Radio UK, ITV 1 UK, BBC Radio 5 Live
United States: Telemundo, fuboTV, FOX Sports GO, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, FOX Network, Futbol de Primera Radio

You might also like