Real Sociedad vs Barcelona: Messi and Co. aiming to end Anoeta hoodoo

Broadcast info

Who’s playing: After booking their spot in the Copa del Rey quarter-finals, Barcelona now shifts focus back to La Liga for their round 19 clash with Real Sociedad.

What time: Sunday, January 14 at 11:45 PT / 14:45 ET / 19:45 GMT / 20:45 CET

Which stadium: At the 32,076-seat Anoeta Stadium

Which channel

In the USA at 14:45 ET on fuboTV, beIN SPORTS CONNECT U.S.A., Radio Barca, beIN SPORTS USA, beIN SPORTS en Español

In Canada at 14:45 ET on beIN Sports Canada, fuboTV Canada, beIN SPORTS en Español, beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, Radio Barca, DAZN Canada

In the UK at 19:45 GMT on Sky Sports Football, Sky Go UK, NOW TV UK, SKY GO Extra

In Spain at 20:45 CET on Movistar Partidazo, Movistar+

*View up-to-date global listings

Match facts

  • Barcelona has not beaten Real Sociedad at the Anoeta in La Liga since May 2007.
  • In 23 trips there, the Catalan giant has won only six and lost eight.
  • However, in all competitions, the Blaugrana triumphed at that stadium in January 2017 in the Copa del Rey.
  • La Real has lost their last three meetings with Messi and Co. in all competitions.

Preview

The Anoeta Stadium is probably the most feared place for Barcelona fans. One would have to go back nearly 11 years for the Blaugrana’s last league victory there.

However, the league leader’s excellent form this campaign should give them the confidence to put an end to that winless run. Valverde’s side remains unbeaten this season in all competitions, drawing only three times in La Liga.

Furthermore, there is the return of Ousmane Dembele. The youngster has returned from injury and should start in attack alongside Messi and Suarez. Samuel Umtiti and newly-signed Philippe Coutinho remain on the sideline.

Real Sociedad is currently under pressure after a disappointing first half of the season, as they sit in 12th with less than half of Barcelona’s points. Furthermore, the home side will be without the injured defenders Carlos Martinez and Inigo Martinez.

Real Sociedad vs Barcelona TV and Streaming Schedule

Australia: beIN Sports 1 Australia, beIN Sports Connect Australia, Radio Barca
Canada: beIN SPORTS CONNECT Canada, beIN Sports Canada, Radio Barca, fuboTV Canada, beIN SPORTS en Español, DAZN Canada
Ireland: Sky Sports Football, SKY GO Extra, Sky Go UK, NOW TV UK
United Kingdom: NOW TV UK, Sky Go UK, SKY GO Extra, Sky Sports Football
United States: beIN SPORTS en Español, beIN SPORTS USA, beIN SPORTS CONNECT U.S.A., Radio Barca, fuboTV

You might also like